Posted in DIY, Mental Health, Self-Care

Review: MAMBI Happy Student Planner

Hello, everyone! By now, most students have gone back to school, whether that’s to high school, college, or beyond. Unless you worked or took classes this summer, chances are you might be struggling to get back into a set work routine. Time management is a learned skill, and some people need more help than others to figure out how to do everything in time, remember important dates, and still have some time left over for self-care. I’m the type of person who needs to write things down and keep track of things. If you’re anything like me, you might benefit from using a planner or bullet journal!

I personally don’t like spending too much effort on making templates for a bullet journal, so I decided to test out the Me & My Big Ideas Student Planner! I purchased the one that I linked to, but there are a variety of different cover styles if you don’t like the one that I have. Here’s my review on what’s good and bad about this planner system, and whether or not I think it’s worth it!

Pros

Course Contacts and Class Schedule Pages

20170906_185405

This was ultimately what made me decide on the Happy Planner over other brands of planners, especially the Course Contacts page. There’s absolutely nothing worse than wanting to meet with a professor but not remember their office hours or what their email is. Usually, when that happens, you have to dig through your papers to hopefully find it on the syllabus. But sometimes professors simply announce that type of information on the first few days of class without writing it elsewhere. Eliminate that possible stress by having all of their contact information neatly in one place.

The Class Schedule Page is nice, too, because then I never have to reprint my schedule if I ever forget it. Though this aspect of the planner is really only helpful for the first few days of class.

Monthly “At-A-Glance” Planning Pages

20170906_184506

At the beginning of each month, there is a page with space to write down your monthly goals, important dates for that month, birthdays during the month, and topics to study. This is great because I like to plan in advance for certain assignments or activities, so I can keep a list of due dates right at the front of each month to keep as a reference so I don’t forget what’s due when. I also really like the space to keep track of what to study because I can use that to mark down any older information that I want to review that month so it stays fresh in my mind. If I didn’t write that sort of thing down, I probably wouldn’t end up doing it.

Vertical Layout

20170905_151049

For my whole academic career, I’ve only ever used planners with a horizontal layout, but wanted to shake things up a bit. I love it! Plus, each column is split up into three parts, so I can use each section for a different purpose. Plus there’s plenty of space left over for stickers and other decorations!

Appearance

20170905_151212

Okay, this is a bit of a shallow point, but I love the look of this planner. It’s bright and happy. Each month has its own unique divider that has either a cool design or quote on it. The name “Happy Planner” is truly accurate, since it makes me feel cheery when I use it.

Cons

Ring Binding

Unfortunately, this planner isn’t perfect. Even though I really like it overall, there are some things that I dislike about it. The ring binding is one of them. Essentially, each ring has an open slot so you can add and remove pages without damaging them. And while the rings are secure despite having an opening, it does make the pages a bit difficult to turn or to close the planner. It’s not a huge issue at all, but it can be slightly annoying.

The Size

This is less of a con and more of a “sometimes I like it, sometimes I don’t.” On one hand, the size is a bit obnoxious. It’s about the size of a regular notebook instead of the typical A5 or smaller. Don’t expect this to be a pocket planner. However, because it is so big, there’s tons of extra space to write and add stickers. So, meh.

Conclusion

Overall, I love my Happy Planner. I’ve only been using it for a short time now, but I can already feel myself being more productive. Since using this planner and adding stickers to it, I find that I also enjoy planning so much more. Planning (and even the responsibilities I have) have become a lot less like a chore. So, if you’re looking for a planner that’ll keep you organized for school and let you express yourself artistically, the MAMBI Student Planner is right for you!

newproject_5_original-01

Question of the Day: What keeps you organized? Let me know in the comments below, and don’t forget to follow, like, and share!

Note: This is not a sponsored post!
Author:

Passionate writer. Avid reader. Makeup-obsessed. Activist. College Student. These labels describe me, but they do not define me.

4 thoughts on “Review: MAMBI Happy Student Planner

Leave a Reply

