Posted in Mental Health, Self-Care

Panic Attack Calming Kit

In my previous post, Back to School: Neurodivergent Edition, I suggested creating a panic attack calming kit to carry with you. If you’re considering making one of your own but aren’t sure what exactly to put into it, here are some ideas!

  • Pen and paper/whiteboard to communicate if you ever go nonverbal

  • Stuffed animal/fuzzy blanket to snuggle

  • Stress ball to squeeze when feeling tense

  • Play-Doh or putty to knead. Here’s a recipe to make a your own scented dough, to engage your sense of smell, too!

  • A candy-bar/chocolate to munch on

  • Earplugs, if you become sensitive to sound during and after a panic attack

  • A coloring book or simple puzzle book to distract you

  • A list of important numbers to call, such as various hotlines or phone numbers of trusted family and friends. Or use my free fill-in printable to make it easier! You can find it here!

  • A mini-packet of tissues

  • Tea bags or hot chocolate packets, since warm drinks always help

Hopefully these ideas have inspired you to create your own post-panic attack kit. Of course, you don’t have to include everything on this list in yours, and you can always add other items that you would find helpful. What’s most important is that the kit helps you get through the discomfort that follows a panic attack.

newproject_5_original-01

Question of the Day: What helps you after a panic attack? Share your advice in the comments below! And don’t forget to follow, like, and share this post!

Author:

Passionate writer. Avid reader. Makeup-obsessed. Activist. College Student. These labels describe me, but they do not define me.

6 thoughts on “Panic Attack Calming Kit

  1. These are good little tricks! I’m planning on writing a post on some panic-attack tips that I personally have used over the past couple years. The older I’ve become the more aware I have become to knowing when a panic attack is about to happen or might arise. It’s learning the coping methods which will help prevent them. Stay strong, us anxious ones have got to stick together!
    Much love, caitylis x x
    http://www.caitylis.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hubby used to suffer from really bad panic attacks and what calmed him down was when I took his hand, placed it on my heart and breathed with him. he could feel my heartbeat and my breath in my chest and he started to mimic that without even noticing. It used to be the only thing that would help. Thank goodness they far and few between now.
    Katja xxx
    http://www.katnapped.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll really have to try that to see if it’ll help me too! I’m so glad that he rarely gets panic attacks anymore. Hopefully, over time, he won’t have them at all anymore

      Like

Leave a Reply

